Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wire Services & Press Agencies
The world's largest international multimedia news agency.
Agence France-Presse is an international news agency headquartered in Paris, France. AFP is the third largest news agency in the world,
An independent, non-for-profit news cooperative headquartered in New York City.
If you have more questions, ask a librarian! We are here to help.
Stop by the reference desk in person, email, or call for answers to your research related questions.
Trinity Library Databases
Access the following Databases with your Trinity ID Barcode
LexisNexis - News coverage includes national, regional, international and foreign language news, wire services and broadcast transcripts.
Canadian Newstream - This database offers access to the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers.
International Newstream - International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada.
US Newstream - US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
DC Public Library Databases
Access the following databases with your DC Public Library Card
General One File (Gale) - A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) - International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics and current events.
National Newspaper Core (Proquest) - New York Times (full text backfile to 1980, Book Review and Magazine are included in PDF format), Los Angeles Times(full text backfile to 1985), Wall Street Journal (full text backfile to 1984), Christian Science Monitor (full text backfile to 1988) and The Washington Post (full text backfile to 1987). Search as a group or individually.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) - Covers the hottest social issues from terrorism to endangered species, stem cell research to gun control. Brings together all the information that's needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, 140 full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, and links to hand-selected Web sites.
The most reliable place to get information is your library. But still, even typically reliable sources, the ones you access via your library, rely on particular media frames to report stories and select stories based on different notions of newsworthiness. The best thing to do in our contemporary media environment is to read/watch/listen widely and often, and to be critical of the sources we share and engage with on social media.
Here are some websites that can help you identify media bias.